Sunshine-y Carrot Salad

There’s a saying in Chinese, about the Chinese: we’ll eat anything with its back facing the sky/sun. In which case, I live up to the stereotype.

People have commented on how weird it is that I enjoy eating and trying pretty much everything, but dislike one of the most commonly-loved ingredients ever: carrots. I can’t help it. They have a smell. The only way I enjoy them is when they are roasted or part of a potato-carrot mash. However, since they’re dirt cheap and good for me, I’m constantly on the lookout for ways to make them more appetising (to me). So that I’ll eat them. And live forever. With 20-20 vision and change to spare.

So I tried this out, and it’s really quite fun on the tongue. I reckon this would be perfect for picnics as it sits quite well and doesn’t go gross and mushy over time. It would also be great as a boxed lunch, as a side to grilled meats/fish, or stuffed into sandwiches/wraps.

image

 

Sunshine-y Carrot Salad   (serves 1 as a main, 2 as a side)

  • 2 medium carrots, julienned (roughly grated is fine but it won’t be as crunchy)
  • 1/4 cup (packed) each mint and coriander leaves, chopped
  • 1/3 – 1/2 cup nuts/seeds of choice (sunflower/pumpkin seeds, peanuts, cashews…)
  • zest and juice of 1/2 a small orange
  • pinch cumin seeds, dry roasted and ground
  • 1 tsp brown sugar/honey
  • salt and vinegar/lime/lemon juice to taste

Mix all of the above and serve.

 

Switch-ups:

  • Ingredients – avocado, spring onion, dates/raisins, legumes of some sort (e.g. chickpeas), shredded chicken
  • Dressing –  a tiny bit of crumbled stock cube, peanut butter, or saffron if you’re feeling luxe

 

I hope you try this! It’s so virtuous, you can go get yourself some fried chicken or cake after.

Cher

Leave a comment